Program

Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 12:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 06:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 07:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 12 Oct 2022, 01:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 12 Oct 2022, 03:30 PM
  • Beijing : 12 Oct 2022, 06:00 PM
  • Sydney : 12 Oct 2022, 09:00 PM
Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 01:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 07:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 08:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 12 Oct 2022, 02:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 12 Oct 2022, 04:30 PM
  • Beijing : 12 Oct 2022, 07:00 PM
  • Sydney : 12 Oct 2022, 10:00 PM
KT is THE avenue to translate your research into impact
Make researcher want to transfer

We have solid arguments to prove to researchers and Phd students that they are changing the world through KT. One hour to demonstrate.

Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 02:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 08:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 09:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 12 Oct 2022, 03:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 12 Oct 2022, 05:30 PM
  • Beijing : 12 Oct 2022, 08:00 PM
  • Sydney : 12 Oct 2022, 11:00 PM
The Knowledge Transfer influencer dynamics – a triple helix perspective from East Asia
KT influencers

The KT policy for academia and its key metrics, leveraged on academic research activities, have been organized around IP protection, commercialization income, and impact.  Under triple-helix model, governments, industries and universities interplay with each other to influence related KT activities in pursuit of their own values.

The session looks at national KT policies of China, Japan and Korea for their strategic shaping of the innovation systems, with special attention on how academic-industrial collaboration, income distribution, and entrepreneurship programs influence stakeholder behavior and activities.

The panelist will introduce their key national KT policies and their distinctive features from commonly known international practices, with entailing discussion on how these attributes influence the KT value propositions and their management.

Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 03:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 09:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 10:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 12 Oct 2022, 04:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 12 Oct 2022, 06:30 PM
  • Beijing : 12 Oct 2022, 09:00 PM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 12:00 AM
We made it ! KT is now part of researchers' career assessment
Make researcher want to transfer

"Sharing Experiences" - It took us a long time but we can finally say it out loud: KT matters in career advancement of researchers. How did this happen and what will it change for KT?

Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 04:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 10:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 11:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 12 Oct 2022, 05:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 12 Oct 2022, 07:30 PM
  • Beijing : 12 Oct 2022, 10:00 PM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 01:00 AM
Transfer knowledge to other than companies
Supply & demand

How to manage that? What added value does it provide us with? We shall hear about a platform designed to maximise access to outputs from universities, from the UK spin-out now operating globally. Non-traditional KTT sectors such as SSH are increasingly active as ASTP's international Special Interest Group will demonstrate, sharing ideas on how to enable this sector to engage in transferring knowledge. As we embrace the challenges of maximising the impact of research activities, we appreciate the need for effective soft skills development by KT professionals so we will hear about an exciting new university consortium planning to develop tools for this space.

Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 05:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 11:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 12:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 12 Oct 2022, 06:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 12 Oct 2022, 08:30 PM
  • Beijing : 12 Oct 2022, 11:00 PM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 02:00 AM
Understanding research : back to the beginning
Make researcher want to transfer

Research History: from the Age of Enlightenment to nowadays what was the research meant for? How knowing research History helps us understand research itself? How do we link it to current KT ?

Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 06:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 12:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 01:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 12 Oct 2022, 07:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 12 Oct 2022, 09:30 PM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 12:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 03:00 AM
Panel on Incentives in Technology Transfer – How to Encourage, Recognize and Reward Faculty Researchers and Support Staff
Supply & demand

In cooperation with 

wipo

This Panel would be an opportunity to discuss one of the limitations for TT and academic commercialization. Specifically, it is the lack of interest and motivation of researchers and support staff to take an active role in the disclosure of the potentially valuable inventions, in the process of its protection, valuation, transfer and IP commercialization towards industry partners and market. The reasons are partially coming from the lack of technology transfer culture, clear IP and career development policy, as well as insufficient funding for TT activities and needed professional support.

Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 07:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 01:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 02:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 12 Oct 2022, 08:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 12 Oct 2022, 10:30 PM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 01:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 04:00 AM
TT in Action - Working in the Network
KT influencers

In cooperation with 

wipo

Regional TTO networks are formed for a variety of reasons, the main ones being building joint capacity for commercialization of research results and the sharing of good practice. The underlying notion is that collaboration between TTOs supports regional economic development, with joint activities embracing the establishment of formal links to and agreements with regional industry as well as various measures in support of creating and adding value to spinouts and startups.

Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 08:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 02:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 03:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 12 Oct 2022, 09:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 12 Oct 2022, 11:30 PM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 02:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 05:00 AM
Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 09:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 03:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 04:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 12 Oct 2022, 10:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 12:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 03:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 06:00 AM
Local and international ecosystems to enable University-SME collaboration
Supply & demand

Innovation ecosystems, clusters, urban and non-urban sites... how to adapt to meet the specific needs of the demand?

Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 10:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 04:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 05:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 12 Oct 2022, 11:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 01:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 04:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 07:00 AM
Acknowledgement of peers : "Wow you transferred"!: How do academics benefit from KT/KE engagement?
Make researcher want to transfer

How could this sentence be placed into researchers' mouths? Keywords : Acknowledgement of KT as a research goal - Money - Impact

Paris : 12 Oct 2022, 11:00 PM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 05:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 06:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 12:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 02:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 05:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 08:00 AM
Launching a Tech Transfer Fund
Supply & demand

Recently, tech transfer funds have become an important feature of the translational activities at some universities. We have invited tech transfer managers who have set up such funds to talk about their experience, the current funding environment and outlook, and will also include a founder of a spin off backed by such funds.

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 12:00 AM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 06:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 07:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 01:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 03:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 06:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 09:00 AM
Transfer of knowledge and technology between academia and industry: what about the flow of human capital?
Make researcher want to transfer

Without the bridge for people in academia and industry to understand and collaborate with each other, there will be no path to commercialization. In this session, speakers from VC, companies and universities will highlight best practices for engaging researchers in collaboration and preparing students and postdocs for venture and commercialization activities.

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 01:00 AM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 07:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 08:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 02:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 04:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 07:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 10:00 AM
Your TT Advocates And How To Cultivate Them
KT influencers

You may be an integral part of your institution’s innovation ecosystem yet still have difficulties spreading the word as to what resources your office provides and how to interact with you. Or your reputation may be a little tattered due to a minority of vocal inventors with negative opinions. How do you find and leverage your advocates? In this discussion we will discuss just how to do that!

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 02:00 AM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 08:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 09:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 03:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 05:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 08:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 11:00 AM
Why should KT be more implied in building national innovation policies?
Supply & demand

Let's advocate together!
National policies around the need, role and support for KTT activities vary hugely. In this session we will showcase European and Asian regions reflecting the different stages of success in embedding KT at national policy level. Our modern world also demands that national policies for KTT recognise the principles of EDI- so our final speaker will share inspiration on how KTT policies can incorporate these elements.

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 03:00 AM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 09:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 10:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 04:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 06:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 09:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 12:00 PM
How stakeholders can rely on KT to answer futur challenges?
Supply & demand

Know what companies will want before they know it themselves. Thanks to their knowledge of the research field, KTO could do this. We have a trio of topics addressing practical answers-looking at our current and future world- can KTT lead the way out of crisis? We will also recognise that effective KTT delivery depends on training , so we hear about global ATTP accreditation and also showcase the future generation of KTO staff, drawn from academic research via the Lifearc program.

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 04:00 AM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 10:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 12 Oct 2022, 11:00 PM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 05:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 07:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 10:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 01:00 PM
How to accelerate ?
Supply & demand

Companies often want to go faster. The Covid situation showed that research can accelerate under certain conditions.  What are they? How can we use this experience to accelerate research when companies want to. One critical aspect is facilitating strong collaborative relationships across academia and industry. This session will explore  tools and steps to make this process more efficient.

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 05:00 AM
  • New York : 12 Oct 2022, 11:00 PM
  • Brasilia : 13 Oct 2022, 12:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 06:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 08:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 11:00 AM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 02:00 PM
Ambassador in labs
Make researcher want to transfer

In the process of promoting research results, there is a contradiction that is not easy to solve: it is necessary to be in very close contact with researchers to both gain their confidence and know their fields of expertise, however it takes a significant amount of time. If, on the contrary, we spend our time looking for the best funding opportunities and consolidating networks, we lose contact with researchers. Introducing companies into labs and technological platforms is also a way to better establish this bond of mutual trust, essential for successful valorisation. How to create altogether close links and support skills: this is the main objective of this workshop.

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 06:00 AM
  • New York : 13 Oct 2022, 12:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 13 Oct 2022, 01:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 07:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 09:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 12:00 PM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 03:00 PM
"When it comes to risk in KT: the capacity of demand and supply to endorse it? ": Innovative approaches to SME engagment
Supply & demand

Innovation is risky by nature. Things are often frozen because neither demand, nor supply is ready to endorse the risk. How to go past this to make innovation grow? What is KT's role in this arena?

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 07:00 AM
  • New York : 13 Oct 2022, 01:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 13 Oct 2022, 02:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 08:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 10:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 01:00 PM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 04:00 PM
Academic and company influencers: The role of institutional partnerships to address the regional agenda for academic-business engagement
KT influencers

What would we do without our end users? Listen up!

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 08:00 AM
  • New York : 13 Oct 2022, 02:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 13 Oct 2022, 03:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 09:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 11:30 AM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 02:00 PM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 05:00 PM
Robot portrait of THE researcher
Make researcher want to transfer

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 09:00 AM
  • New York : 13 Oct 2022, 03:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 13 Oct 2022, 04:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 10:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 12:30 PM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 03:00 PM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 06:00 PM
How to make academics attractive for the demand?
Supply & demand

"Sharing experiences" Does academic research look attractive to companies? Sometimes but not often enough. What does it take to change that image? How do we dust it off? It is also on us!

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 10:00 AM
  • New York : 13 Oct 2022, 04:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 13 Oct 2022, 05:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 11:00 AM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 01:30 PM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 04:00 PM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 07:00 PM
Should we select the researchers we work with?
Make researcher want to transfer

Do some of us target the researchers they work with. How can it be managed? Is it successful? The top 10 mistakes KTO Directors make!
In this session, Tom Flanagan shares the top 10 mistakes he has made and has seen other KTO Directors make. From strategy to execution, we can all do much better. Tom’s experience includes launching the first KTO in one university, from a clean sheet of paper, growing a well established office in another to have real impact and mentoring many KT Directors across Europe to start and scale their KTOs.  How many of these mistakes are being made every day in your KTO?

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 11:00 AM
  • New York : 13 Oct 2022, 05:00 AM
  • Brasilia : 13 Oct 2022, 06:00 AM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 12:00 PM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 02:30 PM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 05:00 PM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 08:00 PM
KT metrics and impact assessment: how to create meaningful indicators?

In this session, we will first explore the challenges of setting useful and meaningful knowledge transfer metrics. As an illustration, we will use the recommendations of the KT Metrics EC expert group on how to move towards a European-wide set of harmonized indicators. We will then introduce the concept of impact assessment for knowledge valorization, its opportunities and limits. Finally, we will share possible uses of environmental and societal impact metrics in our KT profession.

Paris : 13 Oct 2022, 11:45 AM
  • New York : 13 Oct 2022, 05:45 AM
  • Brasilia : 13 Oct 2022, 06:45 AM
  • Nairobi : 13 Oct 2022, 12:45 PM
  • New Delhi : 13 Oct 2022, 03:15 PM
  • Beijing : 13 Oct 2022, 05:45 PM
  • Sydney : 13 Oct 2022, 08:45 PM
Closing

Top